To get the most out of your physical efforts, you should know how to monitor your workout intensity. Here are two easy ways that can help you to gauge the relative intensity of physical exertion.

Target Heart Rates

A way of monitoring the intensity of physical activity is to determine whether your heart rate is within the target zone while engaging in the activity. When doing moderate-intensity physical activity, your target heart rate (THR) should be 50%-70% of your maximum heart rate (MHR), whereas an estimate of your age-related MHR can be obtained by subtracting your age from 220. For vigorous-intensity physical activity, your THR should be 70%-85% of your MHR.

Example

If you are a 40-year old person, your estimated aged-related MHR would be 220-40=180 beats per minute (bpm).

  • For moderate-intensity physical activity, the 50% level would be: 180 x 0.50= 90 bpm and the 70% level would be 180 x 0.70=126 bpm. Thus, you would require having your heart rate reaching between 90-126 bpm when engaging in moderate-intensity physical activity.
  • For vigorous-intensity physical activity, the 70% level would be 180 x 0.70= 126 bpm and the 85% level would be 180 x 0.85=153 bpm. Thus, you would require having your heart rate reaching between 126 – 153 bpm when engaging in vigorous-intensity physical activity.

Talk Test

Conversation pace can also be used to estimate the relative intensity of physical activity.

Level of intensityIndicator
Light If you are able to sing while doing the activity
Moderate If you are able to carry on a conversation comfortably while engaging in the activity
High If you become winded or out of breath when carrying on a conversation

要從你努力進行的體能活動中獲得最大回報,就需了解如何監察你活動的劇烈程度。以下兩種簡易方法可以幫助你測量體力消耗的相對劇烈程度。

目標心率

測量體能活動劇烈程度的方法之一,是取決於運動時心率是否達到目標心率的範圍。當進行中等強度的體能活動時,你的目標心率應達最高心率的50%至70%。而與你的年齡相關的最高心率,可以用220減去你的年齡來評估。至於進行劇烈強度的體能活動時,你的目標心率則應達最高心率的70%至85%。

實例

如果你是40歲,與你年齡相關的最高心率則約為每分鐘220減40,即180次。

  • 於進行中等強度的體能活動時,50%水平的目標心率應為每分鐘180乘0.50,即90次;以70%的水平計算,目標心率則為每分鐘180乘0.70,即126次。故此,進行中等強度的體能活動時,你的目標心率應為每分鐘90至126次。
  • 於進行劇烈強度的體能活動時,70%水平的目標心率應為每分鐘180乘0.70,即126次;以85%水平計算時,則為每分鐘180乘0.85,即153次。因此,在進行劇烈強度的體能活動時,你的目標心率應為每分鐘126至153次。

說話測試

體能活動的相對劇烈程度也可從說話的速度來評估。

劇烈程度指標
低等強度 如果你在活動時仍能唱歌。
中等強度 如果你在活動時能如常說話。
劇烈強度 如果你在活動時呼吸急促得不能如常說話。

參考資料

Exercise and Physical Activity Guide for Health Promotion 2006. Tokyo: Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan; 2006.

Pacific Physical Activity Guidelines for Adults: Framework for Accelerating the Communication of Physical Activity Guidelines. Manila: World Health Organization Regional Office for the Western Pacific Region; 2009.