"Alcopops" are certainly NOT safer

6 Sep 2016 (Tue)

Youth drinking is an important public health issue. The younger people start to drink, the greater the harm. Unlike adults, young people are more prone to the negative effects of alcohol physically, mentally and socially because of their still developing brain. Increasingly, alcoholic beverages are made to look and taste more appealing to the younger population.

1. What are "Alcopops"?

"Alcopops" are sweet-tasting, pre-mixed alcohol-based drinks which contain juice, other flavours or even caffeine. They usually contain similar amounts of alcohol as beer (about 4-7%) but can contain up to 8-12% of alcohol content, and sold in single colourful serving bottles or cans that resemble soft drinks. These drinks often use trendy names and can have different fruity flavors which appeal to younger people. All these tactics may make the consumers feel that the alcoholic drink is harmless, which is no more than a sugary flavoured beverage.

Not only does the ‘alcopops' outlook make the drinker less guarded, its fruity flavor can mask the alcohol taste and encourage the user to drink more, without noticing how much they have consumed. The result is the tendency to binge drink which in turn increases the risk of acute intoxication, self-inflicted harm, violence, injury and … lifelong regret.

2. What are caffeinated alcoholic beverages?

"Caffeinated Alcoholic Beverages (CABs)" are attracting much attention after being introduced into the market. In some countries, they target on the youth market by advertising with youth-oriented graphics and messaging. CABs are premixed beverages that combine alcohol, caffeine, and other stimulants. They may be malt-spirits-based or distilled-spirits-based. CABs contain 5-12% alcohol (can up to 3 times alcohol content in beer from the market).

3. What are the dangers of drinking alcohol containing added caffeine or mixing alcohol with energy drinks?

While the alcohol in CABs tends to make drinkers sleepy, the caffeine in them can mask sensory cues that people rely on to determine how intoxicated they are. The risky trap is that individuals drinking these beverages may consume more alcohol-and become more intoxicated-than they realise. In fact, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in the United States had raised serious concerns over alcoholic beverages with added caffeine.

On the other hand, energy drinks that contain ingredients such as caffeine, taurine, glucuronolactone and B vitamins, etc. should not be consumed along with other substances (e.g. alcohol or drugs) that affect the functioning of the central nervous system. Overseas studies have shown that, compared to drinkers without mixing alcohol with energy drinks, drinkers consuming alcohol mixed with energy drinks were 3 times more likely to binge drink. Binge drinking can increase risk of a series of immediate and long term harm including alcoholic poisoning, accidental injury, interpersonal violence, road traffic accidents, unsafe sex, alcohol abuse and alcohol dependence.

4. As a parent or guardian, what should I do to protect my child(ren) from alcohol-related harm?

Packaged as a sugary flavoured beverage that appeal to young people, "alcopops" are in fact putting them at risk of early drinking and even binge drinking. Not only is it health-wrecking, it also increases the risk of accidents, injuries and all forms of harm. While young people are inquisitive and love to explore the world, they need to be alerted so as to watch out for the marketing tactics.

Parents or guardians can influence their children's drinking behaviour by :

  • establishing good relationship so that children can share their problems and frustrations with parents instead of venting their emotions through drinking;
  • discussing about alcohol-related harm with children to shape their attitude towards an alcohol-free and healthy lifestyle;
  • serving as role models in the alcohol free family by not stocking, displaying or supplying alcohol to children.

「汽水酒」絕不是較安全

2016年9月6日 (星期二)

年輕人飲酒是一個重要的公共衞生問題。愈年輕開始飲酒,傷害就愈大。由於年輕人的腦部正在發展,相比成年人,酒精對他們更容易造成生理、心理及社交上的負面影響。愈來愈多酒精飲品在包裝及口味上造到更迎合年青人。

1. 甚麼是「汽水酒」?

「汽水酒」是預先調配帶有甜味的含酒精飲品,當中混入果汁、其他調味劑,甚至咖啡因。它們以一般汽水類似而顏色鮮艷的樽裝或罐裝出售,酒精含量卻與啤酒相約(約4至7%),但亦可高達8 至12%。這些飲品常配上新潮的名稱,可以調配不同的水果口味,以吸引年輕一族。這些手法可能令消費者覺得這些酒精飲品只不過是帶有甜味的飲料,對身體並無害處。

「汽水酒」的外觀不單只令飲酒人士降低了戒心,其水果口味可以掩蓋了酒味,令飲用者更容易飲多了,忽略了自己實際喝下多少酒。後果是,飲用者容易出現暴飲,繼而增加急性酒精中毒的風險、傷害自己、發生暴力事件、損傷及 … 令人一生悔疚。

2. 甚麼是含咖啡因酒精飲品?

「含咖啡因酒精飲品」自推出市場以來引起大眾的關注。在某些國家,它們針對年輕人的市場,常以年輕人為本的圖像和訊息來進行廣告推銷。含咖啡因酒精飲品是預先調配的飲料,當中混合酒精、咖啡因及其他興奮劑。它們可以是麥製酒或蒸餾酒。含咖啡因酒精飲品的酒精含量為5 至12%(可達市面啤酒的酒精含量的3倍)。

3. 飲用含咖啡因酒精飲品或以酒溝能量飲品會有甚麼危險?

含咖啡因酒精飲品中的酒精成份可引起飲用者睡意,但混合了的咖啡因卻可掩蓋那些讓人得以判斷醉意的感官提示。危險陷阱在於當人飲用這類飲料時,有可能使他比自己所能意識的飲了更多和飲得更醉。事實上,美國食物及藥物管理局已對這類含咖啡因酒精飲品表示高度關注。

另一方面,能量飲品中添加了咖啡因、牛磺酸、葡萄糖醛酸內酯和多種維他命B等成分,並不應與可影響中樞神經系統的物質(例如酒或藥物)同時服用。海外研究亦顯示,與沒有混合酒精和能量飲品一起飲用的人士比較,那些有混合酒精和能量飲品一起飲用的人士出現暴飲的風險高3倍。暴飲可增加一系列即時和長遠危害的風險,包括酒精中毒、意外受傷、牽涉入暴力事件、道路交通意外、不安全性行為、酒精濫用和酒精依賴等。

4. 作為家長或監護人,我應該怎樣做,才能保護孩子免受酒精危害?

「汽水酒」表面上包裝為含糖的飲品吸引年輕人,事實上增加了年輕人提早飲酒,甚至出現暴飲的風險。這些飲品不僅危害健康,亦增加了出現損傷和受傷害的風險。年輕人往往好奇和喜歡探索新事物,家長或監護人需要提醒年輕人,慎防這些營銷手法。

家長或監護人可以影響孩子的飲酒行為:

  • 建立良好的親子關係,讓孩子可以和父母分享所遇到的問題和挫折,而不需要通過飲酒宣洩情緒﹔
  • 與孩子討論酒精的危害,幫助他們培養「年少無酒」的健康生活態度﹔
  • 建立無酒家庭好榜樣,不在家中儲存酒精,不向孩子展示或提供酒精飲品。