Young and Alcohol Free

23 Jan 2017 (Mon)

While alcohol drinking particularly affects the developing brain in adolescence, including impairing the memory and affecting the development of the nervous system as well as reducing self-control ability, early initiation of drinking is an important risk factor for alcohol abuse or dependence and various alcohol-related chronic diseases later in life.

In Hong Kong, a survey conducted in 2015 involving over 2 500 local adults aged 18 to 64 showed that 43.1% of the 1 630 who had ever drunk alcohol reported to have had their first sip of alcohol under 18 years old. In addition, 16.6% of the 1 087 who drank alcohol in the past 12 months said that they had developed a drinking habit below the age of 18.

Of note, having the first sip of alcohol before 18 was associated with a higher frequency of drinking, larger number of alcohol units usually consumed in one day and higher frequency of binge drinking (defined as five or more glasses/cans on one occasion) in adulthood. The survey data showed that 64.8% of those who drank more than three times a week and 66.7% of those who binge-drank once or more a month reported having their first sip of alcohol before 18. In short, those who had the first sip when they were young are more likely to have heavier drinking later in life.

To protect young people from alcohol-related harm, the Department of Health launched in December 2016 a new publicity campaign entitled "Young and Alcohol Free", working with youth and parent groups, schools, healthcare professionals and relevant government bureaux/departments to step up efforts to combat underage drinking.

For more information about “Young and Alcohol Free”, please visit the designated website at http://www.change4health.gov.hk/youngandalcoholfree/.

年少無酒

2017年1月23日 (星期一)

飲用酒精尤其影響青少年腦部發育,例如損害記憶力、妨礙神經系統發展及削弱自制能力等,而未成年開始飲酒亦是增加日後出現濫用或依賴酒精及其他酒精相關慢性疾病的重要風險因素。

在香港,一項於二零一五年進行訪問超過2 500名18至64歲成人的研究顯示,在1 630名曾飲酒的受訪者中,43.1%報稱在18歲前第一次飲酒。另外,在1 087名過去12個月曾飲酒者中,16.6%表示在18歲前已有飲酒的習慣。

值得關注的是,18歲前開始飲酒與成年時較頻密地飲酒、平均每日飲用的酒精單位數量較多,以及較常「暴飲」(即同一場合飲五杯/罐或以上)有關。該研究數據顯示,64.8%每星期飲超過三次的受訪者,以及66.7%每月暴飲一次或以上的受訪者皆表示在18歲前飲第一口酒。簡而言之,在少年時期飲第一口酒的人較易於成年後酗酒。

為了保護年輕人免受酒精危害,衞生署於二零一六年十二月展題為「年少無酒」的新宣傳教育運動,與青少年和家長團體、學界、醫護專業及相關政府決策局/部門攜手合作,加強宣傳和教育未成年人士切勿飲酒。

如欲獲得更多有關「年少無酒」的資訊,請瀏覽相關專頁:http://www.change4health.gov.hk/youngandalcoholfree