Enjoy College Life Without Alcohol

30 May 2016 (Mon)

Entry to college is an important turning point in life. Without parents nearby to enforce the rules, young people begin the experience of making their own decisions which facilitate personal growth. Young people also have the opportunity of personal experimentation in many areas of behaviour which include the use of alcohol.

In fact, drinking among college students represents a significant but often neglected public health issue. Similar to many developed countries, alcohol use is common among college students in Hong Kong. The Survey of Drug Use among Students in 2014/15 reported that the proportions of lifetime, 1-year and 30-day alcohol use among post-secondary students were 78.7%, 67.1% and 37.6% respectively. Among university students, studies also observed significant changes in the uptake and patterns of alcohol use through their university lives.

College is a great time in a student’s life and college partying is always fun! However, college students should know that alcohol is neither a part of college life, nor a necessity of parties and other social activities. Getting drunk and hangovers, waking up in bed with a stranger, or having an unwanted pregnancy is not part of that fun. Be smart and stay away from drinking games or alcohol-service situations. In fact, students can still enjoy a great time with de-alcoholised or non-alcoholic beverages as alternatives. Do not let alcohol ruin the precious college life, and stand up for the right to a safe alcohol-free academic environment.

Below provides you some ways to say “NO” to alcohol:

  • Give a reason or excuse, such as “I have something to do tomorrow. I’m not coming for the drink.”
  • Suggest something else which is healthier, such as “Let’s go for a movie or coffee instead.”
  • Find an ally to back you up, such as “We are the No-to-Alcohol Buddies!”
  • Refuse directly, such as “No, thanks. I don’t drink.”
  • Walk away from the situation, such as say “Sorry, some urgent business has flashed through my mind” and walk away.

To know more about youth drinking and health, please visit the Centre for Health Protection’s designated webpage on ‘Youth Drinking Harms Health”  http://www.chp.gov.hk/en/view_content/34286.html.

Special thanks to “the Pinpoint” of the School of Journalism and Communication of The Chinese University of Hong Kong for producing and granting permission for sharing a short video “Hang Over” about the youth drinking problem from the following link: https://youtu.be/JdI-uLoxrRc.

大學生活 ─ 無酒更精彩

2016年5月30日 (星期一)

入讀大學是人生中一個重要轉捩點。沒有父母在旁監督,年輕人開始要靠自己做決定,而這過程有利個人的成長。年輕人也有多種個人行為嘗試的機會,當中包括飲酒。

事實上,大學生的飲酒情況是一項重要但常被忽略的公共衞生課題。與大多數已發展國家相似,香港的大學生飲酒情況普遍。在二零一四/一五年進行的學生服用藥物情況調查顯示,專上學生曾飲酒、一年內曾飲酒及30天內曾飲酒的比例分別為78.7%、67.1% 及37.6%。研究亦發現大學生的飲酒份量及模式,隨著大學生活而有顯著的改變。

大學生活是學生的一段美好時光,而大學的派對很多時是有趣好玩的!然而,大學生應知道,酒精並非大學生活的一部分,亦不是派對和其他社交活動的必需品。飲醉和宿醉、醒來發現跟陌生人睡在一起或意外受孕,並非是有趣的事。保持精明,避免進行飲酒遊戲或出席提供酒精飲品的場合。其實,在沒有酒精飲品供應或只飲用其他不含酒精飲品的情況下,學生們仍然可以玩得痛快。勿讓酒精摧毀珍貴的校園生活,並要捍衞安全、無酒的學習環境。

以下提供拒絕飲酒攻略:

  • 找個借口說「不」,例如『明天我還有事要做,不飲酒了。』
  • 來個反建議,例如『我們不如去看戲或飲咖啡吧。』
  • 找個好伙伴一同說「不」,例如『我們是不飲酒的好朋友!』
  • 直接說「不」,例如『我不飲酒,多謝了。』
  • 走為上策,例如說『對不起,忽然記起有急事要辦』,然後離開現場。

要知道更多關於年輕人飲酒與健康的資訊,請瀏覽衞生防護中心「年輕人飲酒損害健康」專頁
http://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/view_content/34286.html

特別鳴謝香港中文大學新聞與傳播學院點子創作團隊製作及分享一條有關年輕人飲酒問題的宣傳短片《醉》,請瀏覽:https://youtu.be/JdI-uLoxrRc